The Cookie Dough Craze

 

When you’re making cookies, it is always tempting to grab one or more of the balls of cookie dough laid out on the tray. You know it’s bad for you, but if you’re anything like me you grab a few any way. Well, there is a new shop in New York City that has created a safe way to eat cookie dough and it has started a craze. The shop is called DŌ, Cookie Dough Confections and is located on LaGuardia Pl, in the West Village, near NYU.

I had some friends visiting and I thought that it would be a good place for us to go. When we arrived, it did not look like there was a line but then we looked across the street. The line almost took up the whole block! We walked to the back of the line to wait. The line ended up taking around 45 minutes but it did not seem that bad because we had met some people while waiting and talked with them. When you get to the front of the line there is a Cookie Dough Confection’s employee who will hand you a token and tell you can cross the street to the shop. Once you get to the door of the shop you will hand your token to the next employee who will let you in the door. It smelled great inside and you could smell that great smell for a while because there was another line inside the shop, as well.

During the time in the line inside you were given a menu and you could choose which flavors you wanted to get. They had a lot more flavors than I was expecting with 13 flavors in all. You were also able to get your cookie dough in a cup or a cone. Once you got to the counter you could sample the flavors. I ended up getting a two-scoop cup with chocolate chip cookie dough and brownie batter. The two-scoop cup was huge and I was not able to finish it. A personal recommendation is to also have a drink (water or milk) with your cookie dough because it does tend to leave your mouth a little dry.

Over all I thought that it was worth the wait for the cookie dough. However, I do not think I would wait in that line again having already experienced it. I thought that the chocolate chip cookie dough was way better than the brownie batter in the end. The brownie batter was too chocolaty for me. If I were to go again I would just get a single scoop.

I think DŌ, Cookie Dough Confection is going a great job and is a must try if you love cookie dough!

Katie

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑